Skip to content

Priest Lake Wheel Takes Shape

June 7, 2017

PriestLake wheel

I am deeply involved with this new wheel.  On the white gessoed section of the big wheels will be painted special scenes from Jessica’s childhood.  I will begin these very soon.  But for now the star is this little female cardinal sitting on her nest.  Originally I planned on  having a plucky little bird standing up on the handle but its spindly legs were a concern.  I think the nest is a good idea and since the wheel celebrates the joy and safety Jessica remembers from those cabin days on the lake, somehow it just feels right.  Also a female cardinal’s colors tend to harmonize with this wheel better than the incredibly vibrant red of the males.  Why a cardinal?  I don’t know the answers completely but Jessica wanted one, and one has landed and made itself at home.

One thing different about this wheel from all the others I’ve done lately is the use of oak. Jessica’s maiden name was Oakes, if I remember correctly.  It is a heavy wood with very straightforward grain patterns but it is a pleasure to use.  The accents will be mostly of walnut but there is more to mention when the wheel comes along a bit more. By the way, the nest/bird assembly is removable by simply lifting it off.  I plan to make a separate base for this little vignette when not needed on the wheel itself.

Thanks again for looking.  I appreciate you all!

.

.

 

From → Gary's Thoughts

3 Comments
  1. Ellen Bader permalink

    I love this! I am from Virginia and my parents back yard is filled with Cardinals! They are so beautiful. ESpecially in winter. Beautiful work.

  2. Marla Shoemaker permalink

    Yep. Stunning again! I always get a thrill seeing what you’ve created! Marla

    On Jun 7, 2017 11:35 AM, “Olympic Spinning Wheels” wrote:

    > 0lympicwheels posted: ” I am deeply involved with this new wheel. On the > white gessoed section of the big wheels will be painted special scenes from > Jessica’s childhood. I will begin these very soon. But for now the star > is this little female cardinal sitting on her nest. ” >

  3. Ellen Bader permalink

    Magical, the little Cardinal is so realistic.

Leave a Reply

