Skip to content

Final Egypt Photo and Some News

January 20, 2017

egypt

The Egypt wheel is in the finishing stages.  Some touch up varnish, paint and a few bobbins and it will be ready to test. The color on the treadle is not really yellow – it is a rich cherry color.  My camera is getting older, just like me. With this thought in mind, I feel it is important to make an adjustment in the way I produce wheels.  For the last few years I have been building wheels on commission almost exclusively.  It has been a wonderful ride and I have learned so much from all you spinners who have trusted me with your dreams.  Right now I have orders that will likely keep me busy for almost a year and a half.  It has been  the closest thing to job security I’ve ever had!  I’ll be getting pretty close to seventy years old about then, give or take a year or two.  The only down side is that I need to work almost every day so that I can keep with a schedule and make my spinners happy. Also, the orders do keep coming in and I have felt it just isn’t right to keep people waiting so long after they have put down a deposit. As of the first of March, I won’t be taking deposits on new orders.  If you want a special wheel based on your dream, you can contact me and get your deposit to me before the beginning of March. If this is too soon for you to commit to a wheel,  please email me any time and I will add your name to my new  wish list of all those who would like to have a wheel. This does not  create a contract like I have with spinners now.  When a time comes for me to consider your wheel, we can talk.   None of this is to suggest I’m retiring.  I will still head to the shop every morning and do it with joy and excitement.  But I may not head there quite as quickly.  There may be some detours along the way. Enough said.  Thanks so much for all your support.

.

.

 

 

 

4 Comments
  1. Gary you certainly have earned your slow down and rest. On behalf of my many students who now own Olympic wheels and join me in singing your praises, thank you for making the best and the most beautiful wheels in this little industry. You know how much I personally love you and your family. I will still send my students your way until you tell me stop. Happy new year
    With love, Laurie Weinsoft

  2. Another striking piece of art, even if not my cup of tea. Your wheels will be cherished heirlooms long after you are gone; what a legacy!

  3. Oh my goodness – I have yearned after one of your beautiful custom wheels since I first saw one… and after following your journey and longing for each and every masterpiece you created I have finally decided on My dream wheel theme! I would very much like to place my order and make my deposit. Could you please advise how I should proceed? I am unsure how to “contact” you.

    Thanks ever so much!!

    I am SO EXCITED!!! 😊

    Sincerely Yours,
    Joanne Muckart aka Mad About Colour
    joanne.muckart@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

