Skip to content

New Things

December 31, 2016

egyptian1

Its been a busy Christmas time for us and a wonderful time with family.  During spare moments I have squeezed in as much wheel work as possible.  Here is the beginning of a new wheel.  The theme is Egyptian.  It represents an opportunity to do a bit of study in an art style fairly unfamiliar to me.  My son-in-law gave me a wonderful three blade carving knife and it inspired me to tackle the chip carving you see on the wing shapes on the front leg.

egyptian2

Here is a close up of the front foot.  This should be a striking wheel.  Stay tuned for more reports!

chess

This is one of my Christmas projects.  Kirk, my son-in-law, gave me the knife and I gave him a chess board I made for him.  Round pieces of Peruvian walnut and hard eastern maple are sandwiched between panes of glass.  Sapelle (a wood akin to mahogany) creates the surrounding frame.  I don’t think he’s tried it yet but it is pretty to look at nonetheless.  I guess that’s all from this end.  I hope you all are enjoying these winter days and I am wishing each of you a Happy New Year!

 

`

`

 

4 Comments
  1. Amanda permalink

    That carved wing looks amazing so far. Are the flower portions on the front painted or inlay?

  2. Catherine McCurdy permalink

    I’d like to know the procedure for ordering a wheel from you. I’m very interested in Viking Shield Maidens. I envision the wheel as a shield, the legs as swords/knives whatever a shield maiden would use. Perhaps some use of a viking ships prow as the top ornament. What do think? Let me know what it might cost, how long it will take, etc.

    Catherine McCurdy

    On Fri, Dec 30, 2016 at 8:46 PM, Olympic Spinning Wheels wrote:

    > 0lympicwheels posted: ” Its been a busy Christmas time for us and a > wonderful time with family. During spare moments I have squeezed in as > much wheel work as possible. Here is the beginning of a new wheel. The > theme is Egyptian. It represents an opportunity to do a bit of ” >

    • Hi Catherine, Your idea sounds good! The best thing to do is to begin an email dialogue to discuss all the details and possibilities. I see your email address here so I will write to you later today .Thanks for your interest and have a wonderful new year!
      P.S. I seem to have trouble finding your email address now that I have a chance to write.Could you contact me at olympic.wheelmaker@gmail.com ?

Leave a Reply

