Skip to content

A new wheel to show you

July 29, 2016

pats wheel 1

I meant to post about this wheel earlier but just got too busy.  This one is for a spinner in Texas who wants a LOT of animals present on her machine.  The hard part was to find a way to paint the critters in the standard doughnut-shaped space I always have to contend with.  I think I solved it by forgoing my regular hub and replacing it with a walnut carved shape that leaves a bit more room in which  to finagle paintings.The wood is walnut and cherry and a little unknown hardwood accents.

pats wheel 2

One of the animals Pat requested was a two hump camel – also officially known as a Bactrian camel.  After coming off an alpaca wheel this was a real different kind of critter!  I could have made an entire wheel around this guy but he has to share with the others this time.  Atop the handle will be a Great Pyranees dog.  I made one like this once and it was fun.  So, that’s my report for this time.  Thanks again for looking!

.

.

 

3 Comments
  1. Amanda Gravette permalink

    Another beautiful wheel! The walnut dividing the paintings is such a great idea!

  2. Pat permalink

    The camel I wanted was because 2 yrs ago I rode one across the Gobi desert…..and was given the privilege to brush a Mongolian womans camel and sneak the fiber home! Wonderful memories with camels!!

Leave a Reply

