Skip to content

Long Distance Wheel

March 23, 2016

inge wheel3

The current wheel I am building will go to a spinner from Denmark.  She requested a wheel that showcased beautiful wood and had elegant lines.  I hesitate to proceed with such an open field before me but fortunately Inge is a pleasure to work with and we seem to be on the same page.  I am using walnut and cherry for the wheel but leaving the choice for knobs and such to her.  We could use sapelle, eastern hard maple, or African blackwood.  The front “foot” on this wheel is more sculptural than most I’ve made.  I like the graceful shape.  To add a bit more class I also added walnut to form the heel end of the treadles.  So far, so good!

 

.

 

.

From → Gary's Thoughts

6 Comments
  1. BEAUTIFUL!!!!What a wonderful idea! It must be nice to have that freedom with your beautiful creations! I would love to have a wheel like that!……….. Karen

  2. Ardis Lunn permalink

    So very beautiful!

  3. Gerda Mullner permalink

    Beautiful , I would like love a fairy wheel, do you make them?

  4. Ellen permalink

    This is such a beautiful wheel. What a wonderful idea! All those beautiful woods.

  5. gerda Mullner permalink

    Hi Ed, this is the wheel I was talking about… if you go to their web they have a few that they have made….the wheels are actually a piece of art as well as a functioning wheel. I want one made like a fairy fantasy…. Sorry I could not talk earlier my boss came out and was standing there.Love you!

    On Wed, Mar 23, 2016 at 11:07 AM, Olympic Spinning Wheels wrote:

    > 0lympicwheels posted: ” The current wheel I am building will go to a > spinner from Denmark. She requested a wheel that showcased beautiful wood > and had elegant lines. I hesitate to proceed with such an open field > before me but fortunately Inge is a pleasure to work with and w” >

Leave a Reply

