Skip to content

Medieval Wheel Progress

February 24, 2016

gothic1

Cathedrals took centuries to build and while I am slow, I do make progress.  Nothing here is really finished but it is enough to show you the direction the wheel is taking.  I have altered my plan a bit as I found out Linda loves the rich walnut.  So I have tried to find pieces with beautiful grain and showcase them in good places.  The walnut overlay on the treadles with the Gothic arch is one such place.  I cut a block of walnut into thin slabs and “bookmatched” the two treadles so that they mirror each other in grain patterns.

gothic2

The handle area was designed to showcase acanthus leaves and to continue the contrast of the two wood types, I carved them out of cherry.  This area still needs some thought and perhaps some additional shapes.  Now it’s time to look at it from every angle and do some quiet thinking.  I had planned on creating epoxy medallions for the center of each hub but eventually opted to use more of Linda’s walnut.  I think it is a simple strong statement.  No need to throw in another element.

gothic3

Kind of a nice view from the spinner’s perspective.  Shows the gothic arches on the treadles.  Also I put another leaf above a gorgeous piece of walnut.  The grain on this little gem really is an eye-catcher!  Guess that’s it for this report.  Enjoy!

 

.

.

.

 

 

3 Comments
  1. rabbitsheepllama permalink

    Amazing your ideas are simply amazing.

  2. I will immediately grab your rss feed as I
    can’t find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service.

    Do you’ve any? Kindly let me recognize in order
    that I may subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

