Skip to content

Simplicity

October 31, 2015

sally wheel1

Sally told me that while she admired my wheels that feature a lot of carving and painting, she wanted hers to be a classic and simple statement.  Even her wood choices did not involve a lot of contrast.  After making so many bolder wheels lately, this proved to be a chance for me to reconsider and enjoy just doing a few things well.  She did like flowing lines though, so this wheel showcases this request with quite an interesting front leg.

sally wheel2

While the frame is mostly crafted from cherry, I inlaid a figured maple strip into the front of the wheel.  There is a similar effect on the handle.  The treadles and hubs are figured maple as well.  Tomorrow we deliver it to her in Kelso, WA.  Hope she likes it!

I have begun the wheel I presented many posts back using an elaborate new frame with a sun and moon design on the sides.  I will post progress photos soon.  Thank you spinners for allowing me to make these things  and for always challenging me with exciting new ideas.

.

.

From → Gary's Thoughts

One Comment
  1. InJuneau permalink

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

