Skip to content

The gargoyle begins to take shape!

September 24, 2015

gargoyle 3We’ve been working hard to be ready for OFFF but I have done some work on the new wheel too.  I really wanted to show Teresa how her idea is taking shape. She will be able to see this progress on Saturday.  Sometimes I am able to bring unfinished wheels to shows, and it helps people get a glimpse behind the scenes, so to speak.  The gargoyle needs some refining, but the beauty of my construction process is that it allows so much room for modifications.  While carving wood is a subtractive process, my method  is both subtractive and additive.  I can sculpt any part bigger using my trusty epoxy.  The feet of this creature are totally carved though, and I am happy when I can do this.  One thing that is new to this wheel and an effect I’m sure I’ll use again is the wing suggestions on the handle area behind the gargoyle’s head. The big wheels will have paintings of castles on them.  If any of you make it to OFFF, please stop by and visit.  We’d love to see you!

.

.

.

From → Gary's Thoughts

3 Comments
  1. I hope to stop by on Sunday!

  2. We’ll look forward to seeing you.

  3. HUGHES1681 permalink

    Wowza I love it!

Leave a Reply

