Skip to content

Isn’t it Beeeautiful?

June 12, 2015

bee wheel1

Quite a bit of work has happened with the bee wheel and even though it will all come apart tomorrow for fit and finsh work, I can at least give you all (as well as Katrina) a look at the progress.  The bees are sporting new brass antennae which is kinda fun.  And the new owner asked if I could incorporate the idea of a skep into the wheel.  I first had to do a bit of research and found out that a skep was an old style beehive made out of woven grass.  So, between the treadles on a little platform is a  little skep.  And, to the best of my knowledge, it is the only spinning wheel in the world with a removable skep.  Only the best for my spinners!  I used this motif on a couple of knobs too but made them out of Peruvian walnut which is quite dark and rich.

bee wheel2

This wheel just had a fun feel about it and it seemed a bit whimsical and light-hearted.  So, I took a little liberty with wood and just went along with this vibe.  Most is cherry, but there are two kinds of walnut, some maple, yellow cedar, a bit of sapelle, and, of course, that African blackwood for the bee legs.  The flyer is borrowed from Amy’s wheel for this photo.  Katrina has opted for a delta with sliders which I will soon build.

When I first started this project, I was a bit SKEPtical as to if it would turn out.  I am happy with the results so far and when the wheel has been tested, it will go to Katrina in Wyoming and she can be the SKEPtic!

.

.

.

.

From → Gary's Thoughts

6 Comments
  1. HUGHES1681 permalink

    You always amaze me with your work. Breath taking where you get then apply those ideas is amazing. What a nice thing you do for others.Thanks for sharing your work I follow every step you post from the very first.

  2. Sbou permalink

    It is so very lovely. Really love to watch all of your wheels progress.

  3. What HUGHES1681 said!

  4. Wanda permalink

    I’m in LOVEEEEEEE WITH THIS WHEEL! Could you please make me one just like it? How do I order one?

Leave a Reply

