Skip to content

Another Fond Farewell

March 12, 2014

It’s getting close to the time to ship this wheel back east to its new owner and we try to catch a nice day for a final photo shoot.   I can, for the first time, detach myself as the wheelmaker and simply enjoy a nice machine for what it has become.  Chetzemoka  Park is one of our favorite local places to shoot.  There is an interesting  mix of sunny and shady  places and often beautiful flowers to enjoy too.   Since the last posted photos I have added a small plaque on the frame between the two treadles.  It is a quote some of you might know: “All things bright and beautiful, All creatures great and small, All things wise and wonderful, The Lord God made them all.”

llamas1

llamas2

llamas3

llamas4

 

 

 

 

6 Comments
  1. It is amazing. I love the dog on top. He is a beauty.

  2. Jan permalink

    What a beautiful wheel. The dog looks so content as it watches it’s the spinner spin. Another masterpiece the wheel owner will surely love.

    • Thanks Jan and Laurie, I am always amazed myself how a living critter seems to come out of a block of wood. I provide the hands and effort but there’s got to be more!

  3. Kat Medrea permalink

    You do such beautiful work. We have Akbash, big white livestock dogs very similar to the one on this wheel. We also have suri alpacas and some guard llamas. I wish I could afford one of your wheels, but can only admire your talent and creativity. You are an artist. Thank you for sharing your wheels. Just looking at them makes me smile. Sincerely, Kat Medrea

    • Thank you Kat, I did look up that dog breed a few days ago and you are right. I’d never heard of them before. If I could I would give all my wheels away but then I’d have to get a real job and then no time to make any more! so, I will just hope you can get one some day. If we had the space we might even trade for alpacas!

  4. Victoria permalink

    Truly a lovely wheel.

Leave a Reply

