Skip to content

Border Collie is Ready to Herd!

August 15, 2013

collie wheelcollie wheel detailOur latest wheel is about ready for testing once the varnish dries a bit more.  I like the way things turned out, even though it kept me alert all the time as so many things were new with this one.  Because Jan requested a border collie in classic pose for the handle, I needed to make it removable and it turned out fine.  I will add this option to my bag of tricks when people request delicate handle embellishment.   It is held in place over the regular handle by two rare earth magnets.  Just pop it off and pack it carefully for travel. I felt it was necessary to keep the woodwork simple so as not to compete with the art.  Sorry for the indoor photos.  Usually we haul the new wheels to some place interesting to photograph them but today we have rain.  The  dusty shop had to double as photo studio.  Thank you, Jan, for letting me build this fun wheel for you and I hope you enjoy it for a very long time!

 

3 Comments
  1. Jan DeShera permalink

    Spectacular!!! I can hardly wait to see it in something other than pictures. It is so beautiful and an absolutely perfect summary of what I love.

Leave a Reply

